top of page
Search
  • Damdam The Creator Of Magic

"I Have Never Celebrated Birthdays…"


Hi! Lovers and friends of Damdam. Since this is my first official post, here's me officially saying "welcome to my blog!" I can't tell you how excited I am and how satisfying it feels writing to you. After weeks of fighting imposter syndrome, Damdam.com seems to be one of the best things that has happened to me. And trust me, there's so much to come on this space.


Playing Happy by Pharrell Williams Straight to the topic. When you hear about birthdays, you basically start thinking of gifts, cakes or pararan( you know what I mean) even though not everyone likes it. Basically, everyone starts sending in texts, epistles here and there, calls start rolling in and if you're a good lucky person, you would get credit alerts. For some it's a chance to visit that restaurant or mall everyone's been talking about. And for people like us, we just sit at home all day replying to messages and all that "love" people shower on us. "I HAVE NEVER CELEBRATED BIRTHDAYS SINCE I WAS TEN. I HAVE NEVER TAKEN MYSELF OR BEEN TAKEN OUT ON MY BIRTHDAY. I HAVE NEVER GOTTEN A CAKE SINCE I WAS TEN." And perhaps, it's the same for you reading this. And this prompted me to ask, do you think birthday celebrations are overrated?

Well, as an early teen, I was usually excited about birthdays even though I knew I wouldn't get presents. I guess it was just the excitement that I was getting older. But as I grew up and life started to hit me, I didn't see the reason for the excitement. I know birthdays are supposed to be a big deal. However, as an adult in my early 20's dealing with life, I don't know if I should be excited or sad.


Thinking in pawpaw G

I'm not gonna lie, birthdays used to get me excited. I'd receive calls as early as 12am(do people still stay up late to do that?) from ex's and friends; my pictures would be everywhere on social media. At some point, I felt like an influencer. Fame without money, ko easy nau. Lol. Later on, in my late teenage years, when life started unveiling its true colours, I started having these indifferent feelings about birthdays. I became nervous, questions like "what have you achieved?" "You're getting older, when will you achieve what you want?" would frequently show up. I know I can't be the only one who had these disturbing thoughts.


And it wasn't because I wasn't grateful for life, maybe it wasn't enough. But I saw young people around me with doings and I really wished I was like them. But you know, we're on different paths. Our journeys are not the same. And maybe it took a while but I've come to accept this reality.

If you are like me, I think you should do the same too. Be grateful for life. Not everyone lived to see their next birthday. And stop hiding your age! It's a good thing to grow old.



One of the LOMLs and birthday mate, Kort eo. Since one of the LOMLs and my birthday mate did that on her birthday, I'm doing the same, starting NOW. If you're reading this now, please ask for my account details. In fact, here's it, 2211808682 Zenith Bank.


Big 22 isn't a joke! See you in my next post! If everything I've said makes sense to you and you were able to pick some nuggets, comment, subscribe and share. It would make me happy. P.S: Birthdays are a big deal. You deserve to celebrate yourself but don't work yourself up about it.
Tell me, do you get excited or nervous when your birthday is near? Do you think people shouldn't ask others for birthday gifts? Also, what's that thing you'd love to do or get for yourself on your birthday?

107 views11 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page